Home Non Cigar Related
Options

Martial arts - self training?

LiquidChaos66LiquidChaos66 Posts: 3,767 ✭✭✭✭
Here is a question... some of you here have got to know something about martial arts... Which ever form it may be. Can you be self taught? Like if you watch youtube videos or read about it in books? Cause... Im still fat and don't like doing physical things in public. lol!
Life is like a blind fiver. You never know what you're gonna get.

Comments

• Options
    variant2variant2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭✭
    The teacher is as a needle, the disciple is as thread. - Miyamoto Musashi

If you're just starting out, I strongly suggest you avoid learning from Sifu Youtube. I've been a practitioner of Kung Fu since 1991 and the key to building a good martial arts foundation is finding a competent teacher that knows how to properly progress his students.

A good teacher will understand how to correct his/her students with the basics (proper hand shapes, striking, body posture, etc.,) and if you're relying on books or a youtube video, there's a high probability that you will develop bad techniques / habits.

As far as your weight, as long as you have the heart, a good school will make you feel as you belong there but will not give you special treatment -- meaning that you will need to pull your own weight.

If you're determined to get into shape and learn martial arts, then you need to stop giving a fuck what others *may* think of you as this world has no shortage of opinionated assholes. Just keep your head up, stay on track and know that you're doing this for yourself.

Cнeerѕ! Moтнerғυcĸer
  • Options
    variant2:

If you're just starting out, I strongly suggest you avoid learning from Sifu Youtube. I've been a practitioner of Kung Fu since 1991 and the key to building a good martial arts foundation is finding a competent teacher that knows how to properly progress his students.