Home General Discussion

"RH is low" Humidor in winter time when heat is on

mmkuchimmkuchi Posts: 157 ✭✭
Dear all,

I am a newbie, and I am having trouble keeping my humidor's RH now when the heat is on. The RH now in my humidor is around 60%; also, it's fluctuating. The humidor comes with a hygrometer, and I got myself a round digital hygrometer, too. The humidor hygrometer is a built-in one that, I assume, is monitoring the bottom of the humidor. About the digital one, I place it in the surface corner that's far away from the other hygrometer, because I heard that RH in one humidor varies due to the design of the humidor.

Now the built-in hygrometer is showing 59%, while the digital 63%, which is still away from the "ideal" range. Is that fine?

Also, I noticed that the RH is decreasing heavily when the heat is on; so I place a shot glass containing 2 soaking wet cosmetic cotton in the corner in the humidor, trying to compensate some humidity. After this, I don't see a lot increase in the RH, however. Is what I am doing correct? What do you guys usually do when the RH is far behind being ideal? Any tips? Thanks!

Comments

• jgibvjgibv Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭✭✭
    ok, i see this question a lot and have personally dealt with the same problem in the past on my humis:

first some food for thought:
    63% is acceptable for RH.
    the old rule of thumb is 65-75. but some folks prefer to keep them closer to 60.
    it's one of those things, as long as the cigars are smoking to your liking i wouldn't worry about it too much.
    now, if you get below 60 for an extended period of time, then you may start to have issues with them drying out/cracked wrappers/etc.

now to address your specific situation; first a few questions for you....
    1) how long have you had this humidor?
    1a) have you ever "seasoned" the humidor? if so when was the last time you seasoned it?

2) have you ever calibrated the hygrometers? if so, when was the last time you calibrated them?