Home Pipes

Journal of a Nooblet

RainRain Posts: 8,958 ✭✭✭
Just want a place to keep track of what I'm doing and to share my success and failures while learning this hobby. Touched on it earlier, but to recap...pipes are way harder than cigars imo. Maybe it's easy to say that when you go from something you've practiced a bit to something new though. Today's goal is to work on packing, which I've got a few methods I'd like to try. If there is any time left (fat chance), I'd also like to try and get a good rhythm down...because as I experienced smoking a pipe at cigar speed is no bueno.

Comments

• rsherman24rsherman24 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Biggest thing for me(and I am a newbie as well) was to realize that I can not smoke a pipe like a cigar. No putting it in the ashtray for a few minutes in between drags. Makes it difficult to multitask while smoking, so I have to be in the mood. Don't go crazy learning how to pack at first. Get it packed to the draw that you prefer, and then learn a pace which works for you
  • RainRain Posts: 8,958 ✭✭✭
    Tried the Dustin method and it worked pretty well. I think I need to break up the tobacco a bit, because it's kind of hard to pack.Saw a video where a man said if you think the pipe is going out, exhale some air through the stem, cover the bowl and puff a little. Said it will help to spark the embers. Not sure if it's true, but I incorporated it in to my routine and it seemed to work.Also heard some gurgling, so need to check out the causes and fix for that. Think I read in here that it was moisture. Fun fun.
  • flowbeeflowbee Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭