Home Cigar 101
Options

what is the best humidity % to go with?

asianbiker8asianbiker8 Posts: 551
I've read so many different people saying different things! Some say 65, some say 70, some say anywhere in between. I box is usually running about 65%, and I have 69% boveda packets in my tupperware containers.

Comments

• Options
    RhamlinRhamlin Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭✭✭
    It's a personal preference I like 67-68 RH.
  • Options
    Shaun.Harrison87Shaun.Harrison87 Posts: 1,971
    I agree with Rhamlin, 67-68 is great for storage...might consider 63-65 for your "ready to smoke" sticks so they burn easier. All is personal opinion as long as you are in the safe zone
  • Options
    jlmartajlmarta Posts: 7,881 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I have 65% beads but I like it if the RH gets down to about 62%. I think I get a better burn at the lower RH.
  • Options
    KingoftheCoveKingoftheCove Posts: 937 ✭✭✭
    I'm no expert, but from what I understand, beads aren't "perfect" - there's a 2% or so margin for error.
    That's why I go with 65% beads......2% in either direction I'm OK with.
    The 60% are too low for my needs, and I'm afraid the 70% might run high, to say 72%, and I'm not cool with that either.

• Options
    So like 72% makes it wetter and harder to draw right?
  • Options
    KingoftheCoveKingoftheCove Posts: 937 ✭✭✭
    asianbiker8:
    It would be better to have one of the more experienced bros here answer that, but the quick answer to your question (from me) is ....not necessarily.
    Many other factors outside of RH contribute to hard draws - vitola, type of tobacco, the roll job, the conditions in which you're smoking, etc.
    Yes, 72% is obviously "moister" than 65%.................and there are some botl who like to store their stash at 70rh.
    72% is just too high for my preference......I smoke a lot of Robustos and big ring gauges, and for me, they don't do so well at higher RH.....the sticks I smoke do much better at 65rh.

• Options